Programs and Events
Lifetime Achievement Award

The Washington Press Club Foundation presents the Lifetime Achievement Award every year at the Congressional Dinner. This award recognizes an individual whose outstanding accomplishments promote the journalistic profession and enhance the role of women journalists.  


The 2018 Award Goes to Robin Sproul

Challenging segregation laws, Hunter-Gault became the first black woman to enroll at the University of Georgia in 1961. Her acclaimed 1992 autobiography, "In My Place," includes her account of this experience.
After getting her professional start in television, in the WRC-TV newsroom in Washington, D.C., Hunter-Gault moved quickly to the New York Times, where she single-handedly established the paper's Harlem bureau.
She returned to broadcast in 1978 as national correspondent and occasional anchor for "The MacNeil/Lehrer Report," winning two Emmys and the Peabody Award for journalism excellence. In 1997 she left for South Africa to serve as NPR’s chief correspondent in Africa and later as CNN’s Johannesburg bureau chief and correspondent until 2005

Click to View Tribute Video


The board of directors of the Washington Press Club Foundation is pleased to announce that award-winning journalist Robin Sproul has been selected to receive its 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. The award will be presented at the 74th Annual Congressional Dinner.

Ms. Sproul began her career in journalism in 1976 in local radio, joining the ABC network in 1981 as Washington bureau chief for ABC News Radio.  In 1993 she moved to ABC News where she soon became vice president and Washington bureau chief, responsible for the editorial supervision and management of the network’s largest bureau




During her career Ms. Sproul has earned numerous broadcasting honors, including Emmys as well as the prestigious Peabody and duPont awards.   After leaving ABC News Sproul continues to serve in a variety of fellowships and on boards of media-related organizations that further the cause of promoting excellence in journalism.

Embracing the goals of the Foundation’s predecessor, the Women’s National Press Club, Sproul has served as a role model for the many journalists who trained under her at ABC.  As acknowledged in the Congressional Record by Rep. Deborah Dingell, D-MI, “Ms. Sproul recognized the importance of mentoring, especially other women.  Breaking many glass ceilings herself, she has always practiced women supporting women.” 

The Washington Press Club Foundation Life Time Achievement Award is based on the ideals of the founders of the WPCF, the Women’s National Press Club.  For almost 70 years these pioneers in journalism fought for equal status in the newsroom and within journalism organizations because they believed that the voice of the press should be as diverse as the readers it promised to serve.

  Previous Winners:

2006  Helen Dewar

2007  Tad Bartemus

2008  Helen Thomas

2009  Nan Robertson

2010  Dorothy Gilliam

2011  Bonnie Angelo 

2012 Edith M. Lederer 

2013 Lynn Povich

2014 Ann Compton

2015 Charlayne Hunter Gault

2016 Linda Deutsch

2017 Diane Rehm